Did You Know Each Zodiac Sign Has Its Own Birthstone?

Photo via Flickr (remkovandokkum)

From the time I began wearing jewelry, I began asking for my birthstone for birthdays and Christmases every year. I wanted earrings, bracelets, pendants, and rings. I loved anything with my birthstone in it. Imagine my surprise when I found out that I had not one but two birthstones, including my zodiac birthstone. I love jewelry and gems that tell a story, and this is a great way to see things in a different light.

Wearing gemstones as jewelry dates back as far as ancient civilization does. At that point in time, the calendar was different than the one that we follow today. People believed in astrology and aligned their calendar around it. The Julian calendar (with the months that we know today) was introduced in 45 B.C., and at this point in time, the calendar no longer followed the dates of the zodiac. During the last century, the marketing experts in the jewelry industry started a birthstone chart. This chart gave each specific month, January through December, its own birthstone for that specific month. This chart did not line up with the zodiac birthstone chart, so for some people, they actually have two birthstones, one for the month and one for their sign.

Aries (March 21 to April 20)

The birthstone for Aries is the diamond. The ram represents this sign of the zodiac and is a strong and headstrong animal. The diamond, being the hardest and therefore strongest gemstone, will provide strong clarity for those wearing it as they go about their lives. It is believed that an Aries is constantly looking for a better life, and the diamond can be the strength that can lead the way.

Taurus (April 21 to May 20)

The birthstone for Taurus is the emerald. Once believed to be drops of dew left behind on the ground by the goddess Venus, the emerald is thought to represent nature and the wearer's deep desire to become one with the outdoors.

Gemini (May 21 to June 21)

The birthstone for Gemini is pearl. The pearl is created by a speck of sand inside an oyster. Ancient people believed that this was similar to the duality of Gemini, since something that was a nuisance became a thing of beauty. It is thought that when a Gemini wears a pearl, they'll have a sense of calmness while feeling like two people within one body.

Cancer (June 22 to July 22)

The birthstone for Cancer is the ruby. Much like the zodiac sign that represents Cancer, which is the crab, the ruby has a hard exterior that serves as protection for the inner beauty of the stone. These stones are thought to protect a Cancer's inner thoughts and feelings.

Leo (July 23 to August 23)

The birthstone for Leo is the peridot. It is thought that the beautiful olive-colored stone provides protection to Leos against harm.

Virgo (August 24 to September 22)

The birthstone for Virgo is the sapphire. The sapphire is believed to provide protection to the Virgo wearer, as the stone itself is resistant to damage. It is also thought to have a great energy that will give one an eye for beauty and will make them more intelligent.

Libra (September 23 to October 23)

The birthstone for Libra is the opal. The opal is thought to be a mystical stone, as it can have many different plays of color. Libras are believed to be pleasant personalities and can get along with most people, just as the opal can have many different colors within the stone.

Scorpio (October 24 to November 22)

The birthstone for Scorpio is topaz. A Scorpio may have a harder time keeping friendships afloat, as they occasionally confuse silly disagreements for lack of loyalty. Wearing topaz jewelry will allow them to have an easier time with their friendships. In fact, the more orange the stone is, the better the friendship will be. It is thought that the stone makes the Scorpio wearer keep things clear and in focus in their friendships and relationships with others.

Sagittarius (November 23 to December 21)

The birthstone for Sagittarius is turquoise. The turquoise stone is slightly more brittle than other gemstones. For this reason, Sagittarians should have several pieces of birthstone jewelry on hand. The archer, which is the symbol for Sagittarius, is strong and optimistic, especially when wearing turquoise. It is thought that they can obtain their dreams and desires when wearing it.

Capricorn (December 22 to January 19)

The birthstone for Capricorn is garnet. It is believed that the Capricorn who dons the garnet gemstone will have more success than others. Just as the garnet seems to change color under certain light sources, Capricorns can change in order to advance in a career or just simply to get ahead in life.

Aquarius (January 20 to February 18)

The birthstone for Aquarius is the amethyst. The word "amethyst" derives from terms related to avoiding being drunk. The wine-colored amethyst is believed to allow the Aquarius wearer to stay sensible in everything that they do.

Pisces (February 19 to March 20)

The birthstone for Pisces is aquamarine. The sky-blue aquamarine stone itself is believed to be the fragments of the sky. This beautiful watery-looking stone is perfect for Pisces to adorn themselves with.

Photo via http://ow.ly/XBvYz Photo via http://ow.ly/XBvYz